The Royal Automobile Club presents the Segrave Trophy to Pikes Peak winner Robin Shute

The Royal Automobile Club presented the prestigious Segrave Trophy to hill climber Robin Shute for being the first and only British driver to achieve overall victory pike Peak.

The nominating committee had chosen Shute to be the final recipient of the trophy – which is awarded to a British subject who demonstrates ‘the spirit of adventure’ – even before he added a third pike Peak win in June 2022. There are certainly few adventures in the world of motorsports that can match Colorado’s dreaded hill climb, which takes place on a 12.42-mile course that climbs through 156 spectacular turns to at an elevation of 14,115 feet at the summit finish line. There must be even fewer events where intrepid riders need oxygen.

Speaking at the luncheon presentation, Ben Cussons, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club, said: “We are delighted to present the Segrave Trophy for 2021 to Robin Shute in recognition of his achievements at pike Peak. It was Lady Segrave’s wish that the trophy celebrate those who have shown exceptional talent, courage and initiative, and there is no doubt that Robin did just that by taking on the unique challenge. to become the “king of the mountain”. The fact that he added a third victory this year is even more impressive.

Norfolk-born Shute took his last victory in what was the 100th run of the legendary American hill climb – in the process overcoming cold and wet conditions, as well as thick clouds towards the top. After setting the fastest qualifying time ever for an internal combustion car, Shute was in a class of its own aboard his 550hp, 2.1-litre Wolf TSC-FS, and his time of 10 minutes 9.525 seconds was 25 seconds behind its closest competitor. .

Previous winners at pike Peak included the likes of 1978 Formula 1 World Champion Mario Andretti and rallying legends Michele Mouton, Walter Röhrl, Ari Vatanen and Sébastien Loeb.

Shute said: “Receiving this prestigious award is a huge honour. There are so many big names among past winners and – as a speed record enthusiast – I have enormous respect for Sir Henry Segrave and all that accomplished. Winning a trophy awarded in his honor is very special.

About Robin Shute

Robin Shute grew up in Norfolk, the son of Tony Shute – a development test driver for Goodyear, Lotus and Caterham. Robin moved to California in 2011 and joined Tesla as an automotive engineer. His first visit to pike Peak – which he originally discovered while playing the video game Gran Turismo 2 as a child – came in 2017. Having previously raced GT cars and single-seaters, he made his mountain debut with an SUV 1,000hp electric car entered by Faraday Future, and later competed there in a Wolf sports car powered by a 2.1-litre Honda turbo engine.

Shute has now taken the overall victory at pike Peak in 2019, 2021 and 2022, and vowed to return until he broke the all-time record of 7 minutes 57.158 seconds, set by Romain Dumas in the Volkswagen ID R.

About the Segrave Trophy

The Segrave Trophy is named after British driver and pre-war racing driver Sir Henry Segrave, a man who pushed himself and his machines to the limit in pursuit of ultimate speed. He was the first man to hold both land and water speed records, although the latter cost him his life in 1930. With such drive and determination in mind, the trophy is awarded for “exceptional skill, courage and initiative on land, water and in the air – the spirit of adventure”.

The first recipient of the Segrave Trophy was Air Commodore Sir Charles Kingsford Smith, for his flights across the Atlantic and from England to Australia in 1930. Previous trophy holders have included Amy Johnson CBE (1932), Sir Malcolm Campbell (1933 and 1939), Bruce McLaren (1969), Sir Jackie Stewart (1973 and 1999) and Sir Frank Williams (1992). The trophy is only awarded if the Segrave Nominating Committee deems there is a suitable recipient who meets the criteria for the award.

The Royal Automobile Club

The Royal Automobile Club was founded in 1897 and its distinguished history mirrors that of the automobile itself. In 1907 the club was awarded its royal title by King Edward VII, sealing the club’s status as Britain’s oldest and most influential motoring organisation.

The early years of the Club focused on promoting the automobile and its place in society, which developed into motoring events such as the 1000 Mile Trial, first held in 1900. In 1905, the Club organized the first Tourist Trophy, which remains the oldest. competition motorsport event. The Club promoted the first pre-war and post-war Grands Prix at Brooklands in 1926 and Silverstone in 1948 respectively, while continuing to campaign for motorist’s rights, including introducing the first licenses To drive.

Today, the Club continues to develop and support motoring through representation at the Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) and the RAC Foundation while promoting its own motoring events, including London Motor Week, which culminates with the RM Sotheby’s London to Brighton Veteran Car Run. The Club’s London Motor Week will run from Monday 31 October to Sunday 6 November.

The Royal Automobile Club awards a series of historic trophies and medals celebrating automotive achievement. These include the Segrave Trophy, Tourist Trophy, Dewar Trophy, Simms Medal, Torrens Trophy and Diamond Jubilee Trophy.